Assisting Senior, Elderly Canines with Essential Oils

Yesterday on our internet radio show, Animal Talk Naturally, we talked about how to assist our aging and senior pets naturally: Aging and Senior Pets: Assisting Them Naturally – Show #372.

We brought up several times during the show how using the Young Living Essential Oils, using the raindrop technique, for calming, for discomfort*, etc., were a great way to assist our elderly dogs.

In fact, my colleague Dr. Jeannie Thomason, stated that using the YL essential oils isn’t optional for her elderly dogs! I have to agree knowing all the ways I used them to assist Shadrach through his aging, then his senior years, and ultimately to ease him through his passing.

I used to do even a modified raindrop technique on him weekly – it was our special time together each week. We’d take an early morning walk each Saturday just me and Shadrach sans husband. And then after I showered and we ate, I did his raindrop with music playing. I always felt so connected to him during these weekly sessions. And it also was my gift to Shadrach during his senior months and during his illness.

I used a wide variety of EOs with him including but not limited to Di-Gize, all the raindrop oils, Peace & Calming (a personal favorite in my home), frankincense, Panaway, copaiba, ocotea, and more! This was the health support for my elderly Neo in conjunction with a raw diet, probiotics, enzymes and some salmon oil. He lived to be just shy of 12 – which is unheard of in conventionally reared Neos.

From aches and discomforts, to natural pest control, to calming I chose to use Young Living Essential Oils with Shadrach. He often chose which ones he wanted – often by trying to take the bottle from me! If he didn’t want one, he’d squinch up his face – which always made me laugh as you can see in the video. He always thought that little container of essential oils in the video were for HIM!

Whenever I was doing a raindrop, I’d allow him to sniff each oil before I applied it to him and he did this little three-sniff thing. Sniff, sniff, sniff, with his nose twitching each time…sort of like Samantha used to do on the old TV show, Bewitched. 🙂 He was such a special boy and taught me how to REALLY appreciate the naturopathic lifestyle for animals and their humans!

DISCLAIMER: All information contained in Aspenbloom Pet Care is intended for educational purposes only. It is not provided in order to diagnose, prevent or treat any disease, illness or injured condition of the body or pets and the author, publisher, and contributors accept no responsibility for such use. Anyone or their pets suffering from any disease, illness or injury should consult with their physician or veterinarian. The ONLY essential oils we use and refer to in ALL our posts and articles are Young Living Essential Oils. The statements herein have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

FDA Disclaimer

Published by

DocKim

Dr. Kim Bloomer is an animal naturopath consulting on canine and feline nutrition and wellness. In addition, Dr. Kim is a proficient blogger, writer, speaker and presenter on natural pet care as well as the Co-Founder of the American Council of Animal Naturopathy. She is the author/co-author of three books including Animals Taught Me That and the newest Essential Oils in Animal Care: A Naturopathic Approach co-authored with her two colleagues. Dr. Kim’s articles have been featured in various publications in both print and online.