Sisco’s Sun Prairie to Santa Fe

Sunbathing_11-19-2011_1This blog post was written in “first dog” by Meshach the Great Dane puppy:

This week it is my pleasure and honor to share with you my readers someone VERY special – my Aunt Georgia also known as Sisco’s Sun Prairie to Santa Fe! Her human, Crystal, says, “She’s named after the painter Georgia O’Keeffe. She was weaned onto raw food. Everyone who meets her comments how sweet she is. She loves everyone.”

I’m the same way as my Aunt Georgia, I love everyone! She is quite the elegant lady too. Besides being a winner in the show ring she’s a winner outside of it too bepaws she’s also naturally reared, woof!Georgia head 8

My goal with Bark N Blog is to continue in the BIG pawprints of my predecessor Shadrach and share with you those dogs that are being naturally reared. The reason? Bepaws I want to be able to show humans how pawsome it is for us when you raise us according to our nature.

Whether we are in movies, the show ring, rally, just happily living our lives as human companions, or all of the above we are still dogs. And that means we are CARNIVORES, woof! Even my lovely Aunt Georgia, as elegant as she is (we Danes aren’t called the Apollos of dogdom for nothing!), is still a carnivore. It’s a good thing Crystal knows this and adheres to it for her. My Aunt Georgia took Great Dane Nationals by storm this 034year – which is a coup for natural rearing woof!

Aunt Georgia won the Open Black Bitch at Great Dane Nationals this year! And she isn’t done yet bepaws she continued winning at a show this past weekend too. She’s on a roll, WOOF! Hey, that was my first big woof yet!

Here is Aunt Georgia’s story as told by her human, Crystal Hannah to my Mom:
“I have been raw feeding since 1999. I was going to switch a Dane I had and I was trying to figure out how, when he bloated and died. He had just turned two years old. He died in December and I got Chili, my Min Pin in January. I had her on “high quality” kibble and she had the WORST gas. I couldn’t take it so I went out and bought her some chicken wings. The rest is history. I have gone back to kibble once during those years just for convenience but only for Georgia_WB_Humble_Oct2011 very short time (maybe 6 months max). The difference in overall health is extreme. When Georgia has puppies, they will be naturally reared. I’ve also educated myself about natural human health too.

Back in 1999 I started a Yahoo group for raw feeders in the Dallas/Fort Worth area (DFW BARF). We started small and it has really grown. I don’t participate in it actively now, but it is alive and thriving! We limit membership to those living in the area and we talk about local resources.

IMG00128-20100626-1253I agree with you 100% about problems most are thought to be genetic to really be caused by inadequate nutrition. Listening to the allopathic reproductive vet talk at the Great Dane National, I believe the majority of issues she described could be prevented by proper nutrition and by not vaccinating.

My other Great Dane, Vita, is about to be six (in December). Georgia will be two this month. I also have a female Min Pin, Chili, who just turned thirteen, and a female cat, Kisses, who just turned fourteen.”290258_2219399679456_1081560779_32613601_1467929902_o

You can see Aunt Georgia and Vita curled up together in the photo above.

Aunt Georgia can be silly too just like most of us in my SisCo/Zona Dane family – the photo below is evident of that! My Mom does this too and of course you all have seen me with “paw in mouth” a time or two, woof!

Thank you Aunt Georgia for being with me this week. And CONGRATULATIONS on all of your BIG wins! I’m very proud to tell everyone you are my aunt, woof!

I’ll be back soon with more adventures, AND sharing more of my naturally reared friends and family!

Have a pawsitively tail waggin’, NATUROPATHICALLY healthy day, woof!

To learn more about natural rearing visit the Natural Rearing Breeders Association.

Photo Attribution: Meshach the Great Dane by Dr. Kim Bloomer, Copyright 2011, All Rights Reserved. Georgia the Great Dane, by Crystal Hannah, All Rights Reserved.

Published by

DocKim

Dr. Kim Bloomer is an animal naturopath consulting on canine and feline nutrition and wellness. In addition, Dr. Kim is a proficient blogger, writer, speaker and presenter on natural pet care as well as the Co-Founder of the American Council of Animal Naturopathy. She is the author/co-author of three books including Animals Taught Me That and the newest Essential Oils in Animal Care: A Naturopathic Approach co-authored with her two colleagues. Dr. Kim’s articles have been featured in various publications in both print and online.

4 thoughts on “Sisco’s Sun Prairie to Santa Fe”

  1. Mesach (and Kim),

    It took my breath away when I looked at the pics of Aunt Georgia and Vita.
    My beloved Lovejoy looked just like them (as you know from the pics I sent you a while ago) only a larger male version. Go, Danes, especially those beautiful black beauties (no slight, Mesach. Brindles are gorgeous too!)

    Dudley’s Mom.

    Like

    1. Hi Kitty and Duds!

      Aunt Georgia has a way of doing that to humans! She is indeed very breathtaking. We like the black ones too Kitty – they are so elegant looking. We striped Danes (brindles) are exotic! I even play like I am tiger stalking my humans sometimes, woof!

      Happy Thanksgiving to you both of you!
      Meshach and Mom

      Like

  2. Hi, Brother! Thank you for posting about our Aunt Georgia, and we are sending our congratulations to her and her Mom! That is very exciting news. Have a good Thanksgiving, woof!
    Woody and Mom

    Like

    1. Hey Woody (I sure miss you) and Carole! I’m so glad you stopped by my blog to check out our Aunt Georgia – she is pawsome isn’t she Woody? Woody I’m glad you are all better and that you will get to enjoy your Thanksgiving with Bella playing tuggie and jumping like horses. Sure wished I could be there with you – but you will never be far from my heart.

      Happy Thanksgiving all of you!
      Meshach and Mom

      Like

Leave a Reply

