Harmonizing the Body

Website_photo_King_Schatzie

We are now fully into Autumn in the Northern Hemisphere and I for one am very glad to have some relief from the heat. I decided to share my two dogs with you this week so you can see their cute faces – AGAIN especially since this IS a blog about using essential oils with canines, even though I feel compelled to share for humans too 🙂

I want to admit, here and now, that I do still have some challenges with my American Bully, King (the one on the left). I also will admit I have been lax in using them daily on him since he had improved with his issues. I still do a weekly raindrop on him which he still loves for me to do – he sees me get the oils out and runs to sit next to where I perform the raindrop.

I know he has been vaccinated – and all it takes is ONE vaccine to mess them up mentally, emotionally and physically!

Schatzie, my American Dingo (the smiling face on the right) had them all of her life (she’s about seven years old) and she has no aggression behavior in fact the contrary, she is the sweetest most laid back dog, but she did have some noise phobias at first as well as health issues which are resolving with the proper nutrition/diet and care. She seems to have really come through the noise phobia with the use of the essential oils in particular Peace & Calming, and Stress Away through diffusing as that is her preference and then I use the Valor roll-on along her spine a few times per week also. Home Diffuser

So what is the difference between the two dogs? Well they are very different breeds first of all. Secondly I think breeding interference is more evident with King’s breed (breeding for game is part of what is happening to so many bully breeds I am sad to say) but also because the more human interference in breeding, then the more vaccines each generation receives and other toxins by way of pesticides and commercial pet food instead of a natural raw carnivore diet, etc.

Schatzie is most likely at the very least a mix of the American Dingo (aka Carolina Dog) which means not a lot of breeding (and human inserted toxins) to interfere with behavior – she’s as close to a wild dog as I’ve ever had and it is pretty cool! Whereas King’s breed is a mixture of several of the bully breeds and bulldog. So there is bound to be some issues as a result. I attribute most so-called genetic problems to the vaccines and kibble that alter the genetic code, the DNA. Oh yes they sure do (reference the blog post on my former Dane puppy Meshach who passed away a year ago on my other blog for articles, videos, and audios on that subject)! With less breeding interference of the American Dingo, then less issues since there hasn’t been as much damage to their genome from vaccines and kibble.

With King, I am learning that I can’t play in the same, silly manner as I have with ALL my other dogs, Schatzie included. King just needs a more firm but very calm (not so excitable as I can get in other words), loving owner that keeps strict boundaries. So once again I am having to change MY behavior to help him. King is actually helping me learn to be in a calmer, less excitable state and also encouraging me too also look to some essential oil assistance for dealing with my own emotional imbalances.

I will continue to work on this, doing a lot of research on the oils to help find a combination that will help the both of us TOGETHER. He is a very sensitive, intense, high energy dog. For the record, I really love this dog a lot so I keep working at it all and I believe the REAL issue is me, because he and my husband have no issues together as Donnie does keep strict boundaries with him. King gravitates towards men because he was bred and raised by men before coming to us. I think he likes the male energy more. He does come to me whenever he isn’t feeling well to get the nurturing and aid we all need at times. 🙂 It is evident to me that he loves me as much as I love him, but his security comes from the calm, firm, male presence. So I just have to model that more effectively for King to feel as secure with me!

I guess I have been far too used to laid back Goldens, Danes and Mastiffs. I am nevertheless, grateful to have the assistance of the essential oils in conjunction with my own behavior modifications – I am the one that most likely needs the most help not him!!! I hope this doesn’t make any of you reading this think less of any of the bully breeds – they really are awesome dogs, they just need people to understand their bully breed nature and needs is all.

All of this to say that just because something worked well for one person, does not mean it will work well for you and vice versa. Don’t be afraid to experiment and try new combinations, new ways of using the essential oils. After you listen to the audios above, I hope you are encouraged at what a powerful blessing we have in the availability of the most viable natural wellness aid on the planet: ESSENTIAL OILS*!!! – thanks to Gary Young for bringing back this ancient art so that it is available to all of us. All the more reason to share them!

One more thing that I hope you will watch even if you aren’t interested in Young Living as a business, is the following video. I have gotten a total kick out of this video on ALL levels – Alana is FUNNY and she gets it! She’ll make you smile if not laugh and she just plain makes sense about why she chose to use these essential oils AND build the business: http://youtu.be/x-lv3RaTNQ0 – and then I think you’ll KNOW Why Young Living!!!

Until next time…

Have a blessed and fragrantly healthy day!

DISCLAIMER: All information contained in Aspenbloom Pet Care is intended for educational purposes only. It is not provided in order to diagnose, prevent or treat any disease, illness or injured condition of the body or pets and the author, publisher, and contributors accept no responsibility for such use. Anyone or their pets suffering from any disease, illness or injury should consult with their physician or veterinarian. The ONLY essential oils we use and refer to in ALL our posts and articles are Young Living Essential Oils. The statements herein have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.

FDA Disclaimer

Photo Attribution: King, American Bully and Schatzie, American Dingo mix by Dr. Kim Bloomer. Copyright 2013, All Rights Reserved.

Published by

DocKim

Dr. Kim Bloomer is an animal naturopath consulting on canine and feline nutrition and wellness. In addition, Dr. Kim is a proficient blogger, writer, speaker and presenter on natural pet care as well as the Co-Founder of the American Council of Animal Naturopathy. She is the author/co-author of three books including Animals Taught Me That and the newest Essential Oils in Animal Care: A Naturopathic Approach co-authored with her two colleagues. Dr. Kim’s articles have been featured in various publications in both print and online.

Leave a Reply

